Subdivision & Blocks

Sub divisional Officer (Civil)/Sub Divisional Magistrate :

The Sub divisional Officer (Civil) is a miniature Deputy Commissioner in his subdivision. In fact, under many revenue legislations, he is invariably vested with powers of Collector, to be exercised within his jurisdiction. He also hears appeals as Collector of the subdivision. He is either a junior member of the Indian Administrative Service or a senior member of the State Civil Service, who has earned extensive experience in subordinate positions. He exercises direct control over the Circle Officers and his staff in his subdivision. He is the normal channel of correspondence between the Deputy Commissioner and the Circle Officers in his subdivision.

Dumka Subdivision

  • No. of Subdivisions :- 1
  • Name of Subdivision :-Dumka
  • Name of SDM :- Shri Rakesh Kumar, JAS
  • No. of Circle :- 10
  • No. of Blocks :- 10
  • No. of Panchayats :-206
  • No. of Villages :- 2944
  • No. Of Urban Local Bodies :-2 (Dumka & Basukinath)

Block and Circle

  • Dumka
  • Gopikandar
  • Jama
  • Jarmundi
  • Kathikund
  • Masaliya
  • Ramgarh
  • Ranishwar
  • Saraiyahat
  • Shikaripara